Dear Mirror

Dear Mirror

Eye to eye, they would stare
Feet to feet, they would pair.

Empty and soulless on one side
A masterpiece the other stands in pride.

Dear mirror, who am I to be
Dear mirror, what should I see.

The tangle of hair, the knot of the throat
The tightening of jaws to all what was fought.

Infront a portrait of her life
Where the scars, the tears the pieces can hide
And there she stands with all those inside.

Dear mirror, I’ve been through sleepless nights
Dear mirror, it’s not all about what’s from the outside.

But it fails to show what lies underneath
Because a beauty is all it could see.

How superficial and cynical a mirror can be?
But it’s just like many others, who fail to see
The shredded thoughts, the vague pictures
The broken ruins, the disappointments
The break downs, the laughters
The hatred, the happy ever afters.

But after all she fakes a smile
Because the world will fade in a while
And what will be left is the beauty she sees
And all the rest, are like autumn leaves.

15/8/2011

You might be all wondering, and especially those who know me, where did that come from? What influenced me to write such a piece of writing? What’s the message behind this poem?
I’ll write a short paragraph that will hopefully answer any question arising in your head after you read this poem.
First of all, I’m 18 years old, and I’m a guy. You’d probably expect such work from a girl and not from a guy and therefore I tell you, I write this poem influenced by a strong female character I know. Actually that female character is someone very close to me. The time I wrote this, I was seeing her on daily basis, practically living with her. I read the expressions whilst she’d move her eye-brows, whilst she’d twitch her nose, whilst she’d wipe her tears in discrete secrecy. This woman lost her 11 year old daughter; she watched her suffer for nearly 2 years after her daughter’s cancer-diagnosis. She was strong, she didn’t publically breakdown, at the same time, she was dying from the inside. Day by day, she realises she has to live yet another day without her daughter, but she’d smile. Smile to everyone around her, smile to her friends and family so they wouldn’t worry about her emotional breakdowns, she left that to herself to worry about. Smile to God, and accepting what ever destiny and fate he has treasured for her. Her faith to God.

About moesolitary

Mixed up between what I want to be and what I think I want to be. For now, I believe I want to be a writer. I belong between words and book. Thoughts linger as poems. I'm a proud Egyptian.

3 responses to “Dear Mirror”

  1. Heba says :

    You are talented, GOD bless you 🙂

  2. Marwa says :

    Impressive

Leave a Reply

