The Girl in Yellow

On the side she would stand
With her doll hand in hand;
Looking up to the clouds
Trying to ignore all the sounds,
But they’re often very loud.

She’s always wondering who they are,
They’re who taught her what is war.
“Inner peace!”, she would cry
“You already possess it”, they would lie.

The battles, the wars she has lost;
The disdain, the scorns they had cost.

“What do you want from me?!”
All they want is for her to be;
The girl in yellow with her doll.
But instead she sings her song;

The girl in black in her gown
Hopes high but head down.
Down with her thoughts all so heavy,
Vocals with the volume all so ready.
To shout out and scream:
“Leave me alone, just leave!”

But they stay and linger inside.
They get too many, she’ll lose her mind,
But there’s one, deep and refine
“You are strong, you will be fine”
She takes a deep breath, just about to sigh,
But it calms her with her smile.
“You are beautiful, you can shine”
To believe it, she has tried.

But she looks towards the sky
To a star up so high
To a world, she’d once known
And a story, she once told;
About a girl all so bright
Murdered by the voices inside.

About moesolitary

Mixed up between what I want to be and what I think I want to be. For now, I believe I want to be a writer. I belong between words and book. Thoughts linger as poems. I'm a proud Egyptian.

2 responses to “The Girl in Yellow”

  1. Anonymous, Stranger says :

    This is and always will be my favorite. You are so talented, and im so proud of you. I just read through the posts, they’re all beautiful.

  2. Marwa says :

    the least to say it’s really wonderful n great ,, msA

Leave a Reply

