And then it hit me

And then it hit me, I’m halfway through a year that had -as seemed- just started yesterday. Was it that hard to succumb the fact that a hefty lot of time has passed so unnoticed? Yes, it was. It wasn’t just hard, it was shocking. I tried to shake off my bewilderedness, got a pen and paper and attempted to jot down what I’ve done -differently- in the past couple of months. What good I’ve done to the world and to myself; what step I took forward that was drastically life changing. I came up with absolutely nothing. We, humans, are foolish. We think that time is so valuable and we even compare it to gold. But would any of us possibly watch our treasured gold being taken away from us and not try to stop it from happening? Much say that it isn’t our fault. Life is synonym to routine. And routine eliminates the significance of a tomorrow, like an unwrapped Christmas gift. No one would grab an unwrapped gift, when there are lots of other wrapped ones under the tree. It’s innate. We love surprises. We are lured when we do not know. And that’s exactly why this life no longer interests us. We can write a book about our not-yet-here future that would not be any different from what is truly planned ahead of us. There are no surprises packaged, only disappointments. At least we know how life works now. We’re not those tiny little kids anymore running around in a playground waiting to grow older, waiting to gain a little more height to climb the largest tree. We know that if we climb the largest tree, we won’t be able to get down. So we just stay where we are, and watch the birds fly to the highest summit flapping the wings of our lost hopes and dreams.

About moesolitary

Mixed up between what I want to be and what I think I want to be. For now, I believe I want to be a writer. I belong between words and book. Thoughts linger as poems. I'm a proud Egyptian.

One response to “And then it hit me”

Leave a Reply

