Hide And Seek with God

Every night at 12 am, somewhere in the world where demons were cursed to cross, a boy would climb up to his attic and stay there till sunrise. His parents weren’t aware of his whereabouts and were naive to believe he was asleep at the time. The boy would play his favourite game. Hide and seek. Although there wasn’t much company, just him and his books, Toby ran around like a deer chased by a pack of wolves. He tried his best not to make much noise so as to not wake the folks up, ergo he’d run around silently. Only his thoughts were on the run, his reflections were bouncing into different dimensions, while -physically- at rest. Fidgety a mind, tranquil a body.

This all started when he was 10, he was a little boy who was lost in his -not so little- imagination and thought that being upstairs in the attic will get him finally reunited with elves and chimeras and all sorts of human-created myths. Including god. His parents were prude and would always talk to him about how he must love god above all. How he must pray and obey god. How he must listen and speak to god. How he must please god in every possible way. How he must earn god’s trust, the most elusive trust he might ever earn. Toby was an attentive child, he was taken to a very orthodox school and was taught to only listen and agree. He did listen, but he never really agreed. And one night, in hope that Toby would meet this god they speak of, he wore his most decent outfit and got up to the sacred attic.

“Do you like to play hide and seek?”
“Do you, god?”
“Don’t be shy, answer me god.”
“Why won’t you answer me?”
“Okay don’t answer, just listen to the rules. You have 10 seconds to hide, and I’ll look for you. It’s a small room, I will find you and when I do you will answer all my questions.”

Toby is still seeking and so every night at 12 am, somewhere in the world where demons were cursed to cross, a boy would climb up to his attic and stay there till sunrise.

About moesolitary

Mixed up between what I want to be and what I think I want to be. For now, I believe I want to be a writer. I belong between words and book. Thoughts linger as poems. I'm a proud Egyptian.

4 responses to “Hide And Seek with God”

  1. Redkelly says :

    There’s a quote by LM Montgomery which has fast become my favourite: ‘That’s the only freedom we can hope for- the freedom to choose our prison.’ But that’s why there’s heaven. And really, that’s why there’s a hell, too, for all the monsters who built all the prisons and think they’ve got away with it.
    God speaks, you know. He speaks to those who seek him out sincerely. And I pray you feel that one day too, God Willing.

  2. Sarah says :

    I love it, you are an awesome writer!

  3. The عliaa (@AliaaEH) says :

    Technical comment: God**

    This piece is certainly one of your best, Mohamed. Well done!

    I’d strongly recommend you read A Struggle To Surrender by Jeffrey Lang, the first chapter. I have a feeling you’d enjoy it :))

Leave a Reply

